17 September, 2020


AFSR’s Prize for young researchers has been a key activity of AFSR since the inception of the prize in 2010. A central topic of the prize has during recent years been the “City of the Future”. This is strongly linked to the French and Swedish strategic partnership for innovation and green solutions.  The partnership was signed by French President Emmanuel Macron and Swedish Prime Minister Stefan Löfven in November 2017, and an update was presented in June, 2019.

One of the partnership’s four areas of cooperation is “Green solutions for transport, clean energy and smart cities”, and the interest in smart cities is further specified to concern “green, inclusive and sustainable cities”. By directing its prize towards the cities of the future, AFSR wants to contribute to increasing the knowledge of a subject that is central for the French-Swedish partnership and at the same time stimulate an increased exchange of young scientists between the French and Swedish research communities.

Themes and laureates of AFSR’s Prize of 2018

The theme for AFSR’s Prize of 2018, was: “The possibilities of digital technologies in the realization of the green, inclusive and sustainable city of the future”. The theme aroused great interest and on January 31, 2019, the following young researchers received their awards from the former French ambassador to Sweden, Mr David Cvach, at an event organized by Institut Française:

  • Mohamed Tahar Mabrouk, IMT Atlantique, Nantes, France

“Optimization and management of district energy networks based on digital tools”

  • Tatiana Babicheva, VEDECOM, Versailles, France

”Development of autonomous vehicles (taxis, shuttles) reservation strategies for dynamic ride-sharing”

  • Erica Eneqvist, Division of Urban and Regional Studies, KTH (Royal Institute of Technology), Stockholm

“Challenges and roles for local governments when participating in urban mobility experiments

  • Ali Padyab, Luleå University of Technology, Luleå

“Privacy concerns as an adoption barrier within IoT (Internet of Things) and smart city development”

Themes and laureates of AFSR’s Prize of 2019

For the Prize of 2019 applicants were invited to choose one of the following two themes:

  • “The use of digital technologies to revitalize small and medium size towns
  • “The potential of digital technologies in enhancing urban safety and security”

The themes attracted considerable interest among doctoral students in both countries, while interest among post-docs was weaker. As a result of this, the following five doctoral students were awarded:

  • Leonid Sedov, Dept. of Science and Technology, Linköping University

“Capacity estimation, route planning and airspace management for Beyond Visual Line of Sight (BVLOS), Very Low Level (VLL) Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs)

  • Jenny von Platten, Lund University and Research Institutes of Sweden (RISE)

“The potential of digital technology to facilitate urban energy poverty research”

  • Victor Bayard, École des Ingénieurs de la Ville de Paris (EIVP)

Urban Lighting System and Smart City Policy

  • Varvara Toura, EHESS/Géographie-Cités, Paris

From industrial city to sustainable city: The use of digital technologies in the revitalization of medium size former industrial cities

  • Anne-Sophie Clément, ESCP, Paris

Digitization tools at a territory level (DTTs), for inner-city retailers in France. Empirical review and analytical typology

Jury of AFSR’s Prize of 2019

The jury of AFSR’s Prize of 2019 had the following composition:

  • Hervé Boisguillaume, Chef de la Mission Internationale Urbanisme Logement,

Ministères transition écologique et solidaire; Cohésion des Territoires, Paris

  • Charlie Gullström, architect and senior researcher, Department of architecture, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm and RISE (Research Institutes of Sweden). Member of AFSR’s Comité Directeur
  • Christophe Duwig, associate professor and group leader for Heat Transfer and Reacting Flows, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
  • Claude Trink, vice-president, Industrial foundation of AFSR. Member of AFSR’s Comité Directeur
  • Börje Svensson, president, Industrial foundation of AFS Member of AFSR’s Comité Directeur

Award ceremony, 2019

The award ceremony for the Prize of 2019, which was planned to take place at the French Embassy in Stockholm on June 9, 2020, has been postponed due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. As soon as a new date for the ceremony has been decided this will be announced on AFSR’s website.